

Kappa Tau Alpha is a national honor society that promotes scholarship in journalism and mass communication and recognizes those who achieve academic excellence. Membership is a mark of high distinction and honor.

Membership must be earned by excellence in academic work. Only students who rank in the top 10% of their classes are eligible for membership. Kappa Tau Alpha is not a social fraternity, a professional organization or a recognition society.

Founded at the University of Missouri in 1910, KTA is the seventh oldest national college honor society and the only one in journalism/mass communication recognized by the Association of College Honor Societies, of which KTA has been a member since 1951.

Kappa Tau Alpha chapters are located at about 100 colleges and universities in the United States.

The emblem of KTA is the key, the oldest symbol of knowledge and communication. Its Greek letters, *Kappa, Tau* and *Alpha*, stand for Knowledge, Truth and Accuracy. The society's colors are light blue, significant of truth, and gold, emblematic of worth and high standards.

## Membership

Membership in Kappa Tau Alpha is by invitation only through one of the Society's campus chapters. A list of the chartered chapters is on Page 3.

Only students majoring in journalism or mass communication are eligible. Juniors, seniors and graduate students must rank in the top 10% of their class based on overall grade-point average. Chapters may set higher standards for membership.

Benefits of membership include: national recognition for academic excellence; lifetime membership; Certificate of Membership; a keypin/charm; and a sense of community with fellow outstanding scholars in journalism/mass communication. Membership meets one of the requirements for entrance at the GS-7 Level in

Kappa Tau Alpha School of Journalism, University of Missouri Columbia, MO 65211-1200

numerous professional and technical occupations in the U.S. government.

#### **Evaluating Honor Societies**

Outstanding students may receive invitations from several honor societies. The Association of College Honor Societies (<a href="www.achshonor.org">www.achshonor.org</a>) has prepared <a href="a tool">a tool</a> to help students and parents evaluate the credibility of honor societies that have not been certified. Kappa Tau Alpha is a certified honor society.

### **Chapters**

KTA chapters are located at four-year degree-granting institutions that offer a major in journalism or mass communication and are accredited by one of the regional agencies of schools and colleges.

Key concerns in the consideration of the granting of a chapter include the quality of the student body, the qualifications and productivity of the faculty, the adequacy of facilities, the nature of the curriculum and the level of campus administrative support.

Most of the chapters are in programs accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACJEMC).

#### **Awards**

Kappa Tau Alpha's program of awards is directed toward its goal of promoting scholarship. Among the society's awards:

**Top Scholar Award.** Presented to graduating seniors or graduate students who achieve the highest grade-point average in a chapter. Winners receive a framed Top Scholar certificate and KTA medallion.

**Student AEJMC Research Paper Awards.** Presented annually at the Kappa Tau Alpha/AEJMC Awards Luncheon to student winners of division paper competitions at the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication annual convention. Winners receive a certificate and a check equal to the society's age.

Mott-KTA Research Book Award. Presented annually since 1944 for the best book on journalism/mass communication based on original research. The winner receives \$1,000 and a plaque. See www.KappaTauAlpha.net/awards/ for more information.

**Chapter Adviser of the Year Award.** Presented to a chapter adviser for outstanding service to the society and its goals. The winner receives \$500 and a plaque.

**Outstanding Service Award.** Presented through campus chapters to recognize individuals of outstanding achievement or service, usually faculty or journalism/mass communication practitioners. Designees receive a certificate and KTA medallion.

# Kappa Tau Alpha Chapters

Abilene Christian University University of Alabama American University University of Arizona Arizona State University

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Arkansas State University Ball State University Baylor University

Bowling Green State University Brigham Young University

California State University-Fresno California State University-Fullerton California State University-Long Beach California State University-Northridge

University of Central Florida University of Central Oklahoma

University of Colorado Colorado State University

Drake University
Duquesne University
Eastern Illinois University
Eastern Kentucky University

Elon University University of Florida Florida A & M University Florida International University

University of Georgia Hampton University

University of Hawaii-Manoa

University of Illinois
Indiana University
Iona University
University of Iowa
Iowa State University
University of Kansas
Kansas State University
Kent State University
Linfield University
Long Island University
Louisiana State University
Loyola University, New Orleans

Marquette University
University of Maryland
University of Massachusetts
University of Memphis
University of Miami
Michigan State University

Middle Tennessee State University

University of Minnesota

University of Mississippi University of Missouri Murray State University University of Nebraska-Lincoln University of Nebraska-Omaha University of Nevada-Las Vegas University of Nevada-Reno Nicholls State University University of North Carolina

North Carolina A & T University University of North Texas Northeastern University Northern Illinois University Northwestern University

Ohio University
Ohio State University
University of Oklahoma
Oklahoma State University
University of Oregon

Pennsylvania State University

**Rutgers University** 

St. Bonaventure University Saint Michael's College Samford University San Diego State University

San Diego State University
University of South Carolina
South Dakota State University

University of South Florida-St. Petersburg

University of South Florida-Tampa Southern Illinois University-Carbondale

Southern Methodist University
University of Southern Mississippi

Syracuse University Temple University

University of Tennessee-Chattanooga University of Tennessee-Knoxville University of Texas-Arlington University of Texas-Austin Texas Christian University Texas State University Texas Tech University

Virginia Commonwealth University

Virginia Tech University
West Virginia University
Western Kentucky University
Western Washington University

Winthrop University

University of Utah

University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh